Montezuma County Commissioners Appoint New Members to Ag Extension Committee

Nov 14, 2017

An existing advisory committee for the Colorado State University Extension Office in Montezuma County has a new makeup.

On Monday, the county commissioners appointed seven people to the committee, which previously had four, after advertising for applicants. The extension office has come under scrutiny in recent weeks, with the commissioners expressing concern that it isn’t doing enough. In October they voted to defund the office, but Commission Chair Larry Don Suckla later said that had just been a ploy to get the CSU Extension’s Western Region director to come meet with them. On Monday, the commissioners appointed two of the incumbent committee members to the new group, along with five other people, for terms staggered from one to three years. The committee is to have its first meeting on Monday and is to report to the commissioners regularly. Members are incumbents Eleanor Kuhl and David Temple, along with Jan Sennhen, Don Bain, Linda Odell, Ed Rice and the current president of the 4-H Council.