Ann Leppanen Elected Bluff Mayor with 1-Vote Margin

21 hours ago

San Juan County Clerk’s office has confirmed Ann Leppanen as the winner of Bluff’s mayoral election. Two weeks of waiting for a final canvass revealed a slim margin of 72 votes for Leppanen and 71 for Marcia Hadenfeldt, according to a county clerk representative.

Leppanen will serve as the first mayor of Bluff (and its roughly 260 residents) after a vote to incorporate in late 2017 won by a large margin. During the town council campaign, candidates told KSJD that it was their duty to support whoever gets elected and not fall behind during Bluff’s historic transition.


Both Hadenfeldt and Leppanen did not immediately return a request for comment. This story will be updated as comments are received.


KSJD previously published tallies reported by San Juan County that gave Ann a three-vote lead prior to today’s final confirmation. Her write-in campaign led to careful hand counts to determine the eligibility of each received ballot.


Leppanen joins Jim Sayers, Brant Murray, Luanne Hook and Linda Sosa on the Bluff town council, which will convene near the beginning of the new year.


Update (July 11): Leppanen told KSJD that she received conflicting information from San Juan County. She was told the results were not yet canvassed while KSJD was told it was done yesterday. The time between the respective contacts with the clerk's office was about one hour. This story is developing.