Business http://ksjd.org en Shopping Local In Cortez http://ksjd.org/post/shopping-local-cortez <p>July is Independent Retailer Month, a time to focus on how dollars spent locally are vital to our small town economies. KSJD's Tom Yoder talks with Mark Drudge from Cortez Retail Enhancement Association about why dollars spent locally are so important to our communities, how independent businesses can attract more customers, and why shopping local makes good sense.</p><p><em>Listen here:</em></p><p></p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 15:45:08 +0000 Tom Yoder 12355 at http://ksjd.org Shopping Local In Cortez Kinder Morgan In Southwest Colorado http://ksjd.org/post/kinder-morgan-southwest-colorado <p>Kinder Morgan is one of southwest Colorado's largest and most influential companies, extracting carbon dioxide gas from the McElmo Dome, one of the largest supplies of the gas in the world. KSJD's Tom Yoder talks with Kinder Morgan President for CO2 Operations Jim Wuerth about what CO2 from the area is used for, how carbon dioxide wells operate, and why Kinder Morgan pays nearly half of Montezuma County's property taxes.</p><p><em>Listen here:</em></p><p></p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 16:47:30 +0000 Tom Yoder 11939 at http://ksjd.org Kinder Morgan In Southwest Colorado Habitat for Humanity of Montezuma County http://ksjd.org/post/habitat-humanity-montezuma-county <p>Habitat for Humanity of Montezuma County works to help families break the cycle of poverty, escape from unhealthy living conditions, and build long-term financial security through new and renovated housing. KSJD's Tom Yoder talks with Susan Rain, a board member at Habitat for Humanity of Montezuma County, and Lynn Anderson, store manager at the Habitat for Humanity Re-sale Store, about housing needs in southwest Colorado, how their organization helps meet those needs, and what people can donate and purchase at their re-sale store.</p> Mon, 02 Jun 2014 15:56:31 +0000 Tom Yoder 10311 at http://ksjd.org Habitat for Humanity of Montezuma County Talking Heads - May 21st, 2014 http://ksjd.org/post/talking-heads-may-21st-2014 <p>In this episode of Talking Heads, KSJD's Jeff Pope talks with Dolores Food Market owner Taz Vass and KSJD's agricultural expert Bob Bragg about how agricultural producers in the Four Corners area articulate with the local food movement and food retailers.</p><p></p> Wed, 21 May 2014 17:42:12 +0000 Jeff Pope 9719 at http://ksjd.org Talking Heads - May 21st, 2014 Ute Mountain Ute Tribal Economic Development http://ksjd.org/post/ute-mountain-ute-tribal-economic-development <p>The Ute Mountain Ute Tribe is a significant contributor to the economy in southwest Colorado and the Four Corners area. KSJD's Tom Yoder talks to Tawnie Knight, Economic Development Specialist with the Ute Mountain Ute Tribe, about how the tribe is developing their assets and looking at new ways to create opportunities for economic growth.</p><p></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 15:17:34 +0000 Tom Yoder 7903 at http://ksjd.org Ute Mountain Ute Tribal Economic Development 40 Years at Osprey Packs http://ksjd.org/post/40-years-osprey-packs <p>Forty years ago, Osprey Packs was founded to provide innovative designs for backpacks that outdoor travelers of many types would appreciate. In this episode of the Zine, KSJD's Tom Yoder talks with the founders of Osprey Packs, Mike Pfotenhauer and Diane Wren, about how Osprey Packs was started, some of the challenges that were overcome in the past 40 years, and what the future holds for them.</p><p></p> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 15:36:44 +0000 Tom Yoder 6508 at http://ksjd.org 40 Years at Osprey Packs Alpacka Pack Rafts http://ksjd.org/post/alpacka-pack-rafts <p></p><p>Packrafts are rugged, hand-built wilderness boats used for fishing a remote alpine lake, descending whitewater, or just exploring waterways of any size. KSJD's Tom Yoder talks with Sheri Tingy, the President and Head Designer at Alpacka Rafts in Mancos, Colorado, about how their boats are providing boaters access to more remote rivers, lakes, and waterways around the world.</p><p></p> Thu, 06 Feb 2014 17:58:19 +0000 Tom Yoder 4574 at http://ksjd.org Alpacka Pack Rafts Cooperative Work Spaces http://ksjd.org/post/cooperative-work-spaces <p><span class="main"><span style="font-size: large;">Cooperative working spaces can be important alternatives to a private office space, and offer advantages over working in a traditional office environment. KSJD's Jeff Pope talks with Donna Stewart about her new cooperative work space in downtown Cortez.</span></span></p><p></p> Mon, 20 Jan 2014 20:50:42 +0000 Jeff Pope 3866 at http://ksjd.org Cooperative Work Spaces Montezuma Community Economic Development http://ksjd.org/post/montezuma-community-economic-development <p></p><p><span class="main"><span style="font-size: large;">The Montezuma Community Economic Development Association works to support new and expanding economic opportunities throughout Montezuma County. KSJD's Jeff Pope talks with Chris Burkett and Dave Hart about how the organization helps nurture a diverse, year-round economy that enhances the needs, values, and quality of life of our communities.</span></span></p><p></p> Mon, 13 Jan 2014 19:05:41 +0000 Tom Yoder 3602 at http://ksjd.org Montezuma Community Economic Development